In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is popular for companies to advertise their products by presenting them as innovative commodities. From my point of view, it is reasonable for businesses to promote their goods in such a way, while I think this phenomenon could be a negative development. Companies may emphasize new features of their products in advertisements for various reasons. Companies could use this advertising approach to attract more consumers. Many customers, especially younger ones, are conscious of the new features of products. If enterprises highlight these new characteristics of their products in their advertisements, it is likely that those customers are willing to experience new functions presented in the advertisements and purchase new goods eventually. Another reason for companies advertising the novelty of their goods is to cope with the fierce competition in the market. There are many manufacturers in the market, providing highly similar products. Enterprises emphasizing some new characteristics of their products in advertisements could help to build comparative advantages of their products and boost sales of their commodities. However, emphasis on new features in the advertisements could be harmful, for it could contribute to a wasteful lifestyle. Consumers could meet their basic requirements by using their current products continuously, however, due to their desire to experience new functions presented in the advertisements, they would buy new commodities that appear in those advertisements. A possible outcome is that those old ones which can still meet consumers ' basic requirements will be laid aside as soon as consumers buy new products, which could be wasteful. In conclusion, the reason for companies advertising their products as new is to attract more consumers, while this kind of advertising may cause a negative effect on consumers ' purchasing behaviour