THE ONLY WAY TO IMPROVE ROAD SAFETY IS TO GIVE MUCH STRICTER PUNISHMENTS ON DRIVING OFFENCES. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DİSAGREE?

It is commonly believed by some governments that strengthening the penalty for driving offences is the most effective way to reduce avenue accidents. I partly agree with this notion because I think there are furthermore tools that are instrumental in promoting safety on the highways which will have been elucidated in this essay. To commence, it is undeniable that stricter punishments could deter motorists from driving dangerously and provide road security. To illustrate, when the full weight of the law is applied in imposing a variety of non-custodial sentences for example heavy fines and the confiscation of driving licenses, drivers are less likely to commit a driving offence because of those harsher penalties. Furthermore, serious offenders such as driving while intoxicated should serve a prison sentence, because they endanger innocent lives and exacerbate traffic collisions. what can be said is that trend could be, somehow, one of the most efficient methods to assure secure movement. However, I believe that there are other several measures that can effectively improve the peaceful street. Firstly, if national and local authorities assist to tackle this problem by installing speed cameras, This, consequently, could raise the awareness of people about the need to follow the speed limits. Secondly, regular vehicle inspections should be conducted, which can play a significant role in reducing the number of accidents caused by mechanical failures. Finally, people should be offered better education about the importance of road safety, for instance, young people who are more likely to break the rules should be taught about methods to prevent pavement accidents. This, therefore, could make individuals adhere to the driving rules. In conclusion, after this essay has shown the above points, it can be noticed that law enforcement is not the only way to completely tackle the highway safety issue. I moderately agree with this idea as other steps are equally important.