Towns and cities should be divided into zones so that all the schools are in one area, all the shopping malls are located together and all the industrial sites are situated close to each other. To what extent do you agree that urban areas should be split into distinct zones?

Some people believe that cities should be divided into several areas based on the type of buildings or activities, such as all the schools in the same district or all the shops in the same zones. While others sustain that the best way to organize a town is through the mixing of its activities. I agree with the former to a great extent, even if I understand some downsides of this choice. First of all, putting all the schools together would make it a lot easier to pick up kids from school and also decrease the danger in case some child tries to escape from them. For example, if you are a mom of three children of different ages, it would very easy for you if kindergarten, elementary school and high school would be on the same street. Although this may cause a terrible nightmare regarding traffic since all the parents would have to pick up their kids by car, which may also increase traffic accidents. Even if this is a real problem, in my,opinion the upsides are more than the downsides. Secondly, if all the industries are in the same area, also the noises that they produce would be really decreased and they would not disturb any more people who are sleeping. In addition, putting all the shops in the same district would make it easier for people who would like to go shopping, in fact for example if you desire to buy some dresses you do not have to spend time looking for shops since you already know where they are. In conclusion, I think that the division of a city based on activities and buildings would be a wonderful idea since everything would be easier to find and the organization would be better.