Medical professionals such as doctors and nurses from poorer countries often migrate to richer countries to work. What problems arise from this situation? What measures can be taken to deal with it?

Nowadays, the migration of medical experts such as doctors and nurses to wealthy nations from their own countries is being increasingly witnessed. This essay will discuss the main problems that arose from this phenomenon, including acute labour shortages and increasing workloads. This essay will also suggest how to cope with those issues by raising wages and increasing the enrollment of medical students. There are various issues associated with the migration of medical professionals to other countries. Firstly, more and more workers with medical backgrounds choosing to work abroad could lead to a serious staff shortage in local hospitals. In addition, this difficulty would be further exacerbated by the intensified workloads in the understaffed workplaces. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Japan suggested that over 70% of hospitals struggle to recruit and retain experienced employees due to the hectic work schedule and stressful working environment. As can be seen, predicaments caused by these migration trends are prominent. The solutions are not simple but they do exist. Retaining the existing trained employees by improving their salaries and encouraging more students to major in medical are both critical to eradicating these conundrums. People need to realize that those medical experts move to richer societies for a better quality of life and brighter career prospects. Hence, we could encourage them to stay in their home countries by offering them better financial incentives. Furthermore, it could attract more students to the medical domain, which will provide a sufficient workforce in the future. For example, the staff turnover rate is much lower in private medical centers compared to public hospitals due to better pay packages. Therefore, these measures could have a profound impact on these migration trends. In conclusion, trained and experienced medical experts working overseas are ubiquitous these days. This essay discussed how this phenomenon was caused and also suggested methods to prevent this situation from worsening.