Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

In our consumerist society, we have been bombarded continuously with a multitude of advertisements. Although some people believe that it urges buyers into buying popular goods for no good reasons apparently, others argue that it is a form of communication adopted by organisations. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument, while I support the latter opinion. On the first hand, many people argue that commercials for best-selling products lure consumers into buying them without having any requirements. The reason for this is that buyers usually fall into the trap of attractive discounts and schemes, contrived into making a purchase. To illustrate this point, mobile companies in India lure both new and existing customers into buying their new gadgets or offerings by offering lucrative exchange offers. In contrast, if these organisations stopped advertising unnecessarily, sales of these organisations would be affected rather negatively. On the other hand, I would argue that an advertisement is a form of communication rather than enticing buyers into buying products for no reason. This is because of the fact that it creates awareness for products offered by companies before potential buyers. To amplify, we are exposed to advertisements from various brands on multiple platforms because of brand recognition. On the contrary, if there were no advertisements from brands, we would never be able to compare products before buying them. As a result of this, we will never be able to buy a sound product. In conclusion, while advertisement compels people into buying goods and services, which they do not require, it is a form of communication to create awareness for products, enabling buyers to buy them when a need arises.