Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some people are convinced that sport is a crucial role in the lives of the children at the school; however, others feel it should be on an optional basis. In my opinion, I disagree that athletics should be an essential part of the curriculum. In this essay, I will look at how students can take part in sports activities to remain healthy and I will also go further to discuss how sports can affect their studies. On one hand, students must take part in sports activities to stay healthy and active. For instance, a study conducted by Enugu state university in 2017 concluded that when male students play physical activities like football, badminton, or volleyball, the percentage of testosterone, which is a primary sex hormone in males, increases significantly, as a result increasing their immunity as well as activeness levels by 67%. Furthermore, when scholars are agile, they are more likely to perform well in their academics. On the other hand, when scholars devote excess time to sports, they might end up neglecting their studies. For example, a survey conducted by vanguard news in 2019 stated that 78% of scholars attending an institute of learning who engaged in so many sports were unable to manage their time efficiently thereby causing them to achieve lower test scores than their peers. Therefore, not only did they perform poorly on tests but also ended up being stressed. In conclusion, when teenagers are made to play sports there are a few benefits and drawbacks with increased immunity and fitness level while the latter being not having enough time for education. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I can conclude that the disadvantages of making sports essential outweigh the advantages. Nevertheless, this can be corrected if kids are taught how to manage their time.