Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is true that the extended family does not play a vital role today as it was in the past. One reason can be the financial support received by family members in the large family and another reason is the availability of occupation and amenities in the foreign land. This essay will discuss situations in both the periods and relevant supporting experiences. To start with, in the earlier times, people used to live with an extended family under one roof. They had a common occupation that was farming, the only source to fill their stomachs. For this, every member of the family has distributed the work of either household or work on the farm. As a result, everyone in the family had a dependency on each other in terms of money as well as looking after each other. Also, the lack of education didn't allow them to think of living an independent life. For example, my grandparents and their extended families were living together in the countryside, until my grandfather was employed in a factory in the city side. Thus, the individual couple had a strong connection with their extended relations basically to survive. However, in recent times, this has changed. Nowadays, we have numerous education and job opportunities outside our birthplace. Although it is difficult to struggle alone away from the family, it brings more profit and self-development. Apart from this, there are several facilities around us like a nursery for kids, hospitals, maids, ordering food from restaurants,etc. which are much more reliable than being in an extended family. Moreover, family gatherings are held every week or month or year to spend time and feel loved by grandparents, uncles and cousins. For example, my friend has a nuclear family in a city but has extended family in the rural region. They are settled in the city with ongoing studies and earnings. On the other hand, they spend their vacation with their extended families. Therefore, there is no such dependency on anything from the family as people had in the past. In my opinion, living with extended family is not a big concern as everyone manages their problems and daily chores of the house on their own with the availability of high standards and high salaries in the urban region. Further, everyone has a distinct occupation which does not make them rely on anyone among the cousins.