Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, advertisements are everywhere. They are shown in TV programs, on social media, on the streets and in mansions. It has become a crucial part of modern metropolises. Most time, advertising has been seen as successful at persuading people to consume. However, some argue that since advertisements have become so universal, it has lost its appeal. From my perspective, whether it is still worth a look or not depends on the commercial. It is quite indisputable that most peoples’ consumption habits, especially those from small places, are still being influenced by advertisements. As advertising becomes closely related to big data, the pusher can enter the backend to check on peoples’ preferences. According to the information, pushers will push the exact products people want to them, making the product more appealing to people. In addition, useful advertisements could also help people save time and money, they could find the cheapest and highest-quality products in just a short time, which could be especially beneficial and tempting to those who have less time but are in urgent need. Nevertheless, advertising can also be unattractive since it is sometimes annoying. Advertising becomes a disturbance when people browse YouTube or other social media, unnecessary advertisements often pop up. To continue surfing the web, people have to wait for the commercial to end. The patience it costs will significantly reduce its appeal, and over time, it will lose people ’s attention. To conclude, advertising is still a great way to persuade consumers to buy products, despite the annoyance it brings to people sometimes.