The cost of international travel is decreasing, and so the trend of international tourism is increasing in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the rising trend of tourism for countries?

The popularity of international travel is growing with the decrease in travel expenses in many parts of the world. There are advantages to this rise, like cultural exchange, and infrastructure developments. There are also drawbacks like pollution and overcrowding by tourists. A large number of people visiting a place can improve many aspects of a country. The cultural exchange with tourism is very big and can help in a country's development. Historical buildings and attractions in a country are on every tourist's bucket list when they are visiting. As more and more people visit a country for its culture and heritage, the higher the chances that this culture gets promoted to other countries around the world. In addition, with the rise in tourism, the infrastructure development also needs an upgrade for accommodating these people. Where these developments can be hotels, malls, parks etc. Thus, by more people visiting places, it promotes culture and architecture in the country. Anything excess can have an impact if it goes on for a long duration. And this effect is also applicable to over-tourism. If a large number of people visit a place consistently, this may have impacts on the environment. Overtourism has damaged the beautiful locations of Bali, because of land pollution and air pollution created by tourists. Moreover, places like London and Paris are the cities with the most reported cases of pickpocketing. This is happening because of the overcrowding in these tourist attractions. Therefore, overtourism is creating problems either for the environment or the tourists. In conclusion, even though the costs of travel are becoming affordable with the rise in international tourism there are disadvantages like pickpocketing from overcrowding of places, and environmental impacts. However, these can be overcome by benefits like the cultural exchange between the countries and developments in architecture.