Some people say history is one of the most important school subject other people think that, in today's world, science and technology are more important than history.

There is a widespread phenomenon that one of the most significant school theme is history while others are of the view that science and technology are more beneficial globally than History. This essay shall endorse the former notion. However the two divergent views shall be outline after which a meaningful conclusion shall be drawn. On one hand preservation of culture is one of the enormous reasons people believe history is one of the paramount themes in school. With the growing of our society, the younger generations have to be in the known of what has transpired before they were born and that can only be done through history lessons. As they understand and pass it on, they are protecting their cultural heritage for the generations yet unborn. Admittedly studying history as one of the school themes will go a long way to help the the younger generations to know what happened before their ancestors got to where they currently are. For example, a recent survey conducted by the ministry of education indicated that, in Ghana most children know the meaning of the colors in our national flag as a result of the one hour early morning history class introduced recently On the other hand, improvement in our way of communicating is one of the main reasons people believe science and technology are more beneficial than history. Technology has helped develop communicating devices like mobile phones which help to transfer information within the shortest possible time than writing letters. Even though messages are transferred quickly, that not withstanding measures have to be deployed to ensure the history of the people do not fade away. For instance most students could not recite the national anthem and plague. However the government was able to deploy measures to ensure students know it increasing the number from 20% to75% of the total population of students In conclusion after assessing the two divergent views, it is felt that the merits for studying history as a school subject is more than science and technology. I will therefore recommend that the government and opinion leaders should put in measures as this will go a long way to conserve the rich culture of the people.