Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.  Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the debate on whether professionals like doctors and engineers should be forced to stay in the country where they received their education has been heated. While some people think that these professionals should be responsible for the resources provided by the country where they did their training, others believe that they should be able to choose wherever they want to prevent social reproduction. As far as I am concerned, respecting professionals’ free wishes may be more beneficial to the social development of all the countries. To begin with, requiring students to continue their career in the same country where their universities ensure the countries will benefit from it. As many countries are trying to enhance their soft power by developing education, the local governments may spend a large amount of capital on training. For example, medical students may be subsidised for the latest infrastructure during their studies. Therefore, it seems that the investment cannot benefit the local development if international students all leave after their study periods. However, it seems that allowing students to work in countries they like may provide better equity. As some students from the third world may have the chance to use what they have learnt from the developed countries to help their own nations. For example, a Nigerian engineering student may enhance their local transportation systems after being trained in the US. Therefore, the third -world countries may also have the chance to boost the infrastructures in their city their citizens are willing to devote themselves to their hometown after their graduation in other developed countries. In conclusion, although restricting students ’ career paths can benefit those countries which provide high-quality education, a greater contribution to the whole world may be achieved if students can be encouraged to work in those less developed countries.