Many children no longer read books and instead spend their time using modern technology. While some people think it is a positive trend, others think it is a problem. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the modern world, technology overtakes most of the tasks which we used to do manually. Even children prefer to allocate more time to new technology rather than reading books. In my opinion, we should encourage children to move along with what technology offers. In my opinion, we should allow children to learn about subjects quicker by watching videos and audio related to their subject, however, If we give them total freedom, this could push children in the wrong direction. On one hand, giving access to modern technology helps children to gather information a lot quicker. Especially on how new software has the capability to summarise and present. For example, websites such as youtube have managed to present most of the books and subjects in visualize manner which is easier for children to understand. Furthermore, we could see that children listen to audio clips which helps them to gather information a lot faster than reading a book. Finally, the e-book concept is a lot similar to reading a book but e-books give many added advantages such as being able to zoom in, can access the same book from different platforms and being able to adjust the brightness. On the other hand intentionally or unintentionally, this could push children in the wrong direction. In most of the platforms like youtube, hardly have a way to show only what the user is searching for and to avoid showing unwanted topics. For example, violent videos, adultery videos and videos related to games could change the children's behaviour in a negative manner. To summarise, although modern technology helps children move with the trend, access to wrong information could change children's behaviour in a wrong way. In my opinion, using modern hardware and software gives so many positive outcomes, however, it is advisable to let children move along with IT with close supervision.