Nowadays more and more researches are being carried out and sponsored by private organisations. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages in such cases?

It is now quite common to see for-profit companies carrying out research and development as opposed to State-owned institutions. While there are positives and negatives to both sides, I would not agree that the pros exceed the cons in such situations. In my,essay I would attempt to weigh both sides of this argument. Firstly, non-government-owned businesses have a duty to maximise profit while delivering satisfactorily to their investors and shareholders. In order words, efficiency and excellence would be their watchword. The resources available would be utilised in such a way to ensure that staff are working are maximum capacity while achieving the aim. There would be little wiggle room for sub-standard work. As this in turn may shave off profits which would make the money backers dissatisfied, and lead to them asking difficult questions to company managers and board of directors On the other hand of the coin, there could be issues of security breaches in such organisations. This may present itself in the form of disgruntled employees who have no more to their company. They can leak company information on the dark web just to get back at a line manager or a supervisor. Additionally, There can also be scientists who have become lured by other countries to sell trade secrets in exchange for large sums of money, and an offer to be relocated into a country without extradition arrangements with their own home country. Breaches like this would have a very disastrous effect on diplomatic relations between the two countries involved leading to widely devastating outcomes for all parties In conclusion, I would say that while there are indeed good and bad in such agreements, the positives do outweigh the benefits in such a situation.