Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jails, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, drug addiction continues to be a controversial topic, as a result of development in the medical industry. For this situation, some drugs were banned and some striking rules were added to prevent addiction, including sending addicted people to clinics or prisons. There are two valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider in this essay. On the one hand, people who think drug abusers should be sent to imprison, consider them criminals. The main reason is after a time they have no control over their actions so it can be harmful and not to mention most drugs have devastating side effects like alcohol. For instance, when a person overdosed can die, and if he or she drives a car it can lead to an accident. Accordingly, they want punishment for these people to prevent this kind of phenomenon. On the other hand, a large number of individuals feel that it is better to treat them like patients because at first most of them were ill, and after a while, they did not cut off their pills, consequently, they are addicted to them. Thus, one solution can be to treat them like they are ill in some way can be more effective. In conclusion, there are several methods to reduce pill addiction, such as increasing awareness in terms of side effects, banning some drugs, and striking rules for pharmacies to check prescriptions of users. From my perspective, prison is not a place for minor crimes. So, I feel that the hospital is a better place for them.