Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation requires people to be proficient in linguistics so some countries set up a foreign language besides their mother tongue at the elementary level. It is believed by educationalists, that kids should learn a foreign language from the very beginning of their education and I firmly agree with this statement. This essay will explain why I support this idea. On the one hand, there are two main reasons to support early learning of a foreign language. Firstly, at a young age, children have high grasping power, so they can take lesser time to learn a new dialect. To exemplify, a four-year age-old kid will need lesser time than a fifty-year-old person due to their brain formality. In addition, folk need to learn new dialects if they want to settle abroad due to their better future. To elaborate, they will get preference rather than a person only knowing his mother tongue. On the other hand, there are some issues that need to be paid attention if a young do not want to go abroad for his job, then learning a foreign dialect would be worthless. For instance, if a child after getting graduation wants to do jobs in the IT sector in his own country, learning a foreign dialect would be a waste of time. Another drawback is that kids do not possess the required decision-making skills in the early stage of their life as compared to secondary school where they could understand their field of interest. So, if they do not choose a career in the language field later, then it would not be a wise decision to learn a non-regional language in primary school. In conclusion, from the above-mentioned discussion, though there are some negative sides of learning a foreign language at the elementary level, the benefits are greater than the drawbacks.