Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that a mobile phone is an indispensable thing for youngsters. As a result, they usually spend several hours on their mobile phone on a daily basis. From my point of view, this is a negative trend, which provides many drawbacks. The major reason that children use their smartphone for many hours every day is that they are lonely. In other words, due to the modern society these days, people have to spend most of their time on their work and hardly spend quality time with their kids. As a consequence, their kids utilize a smartphone to reduce their feeling of loneliness. Moreover, it is the easiest way to communicate with their peers. To illustrate, there are numerous apps such as Facebook, Line, and Instagram that children can use to interact with their friends. One of the obvious disadvantages of overusing a smartphone is that youngsters can have attention deficit syndrome. In simple terms, when kids use a mobile phone for hours, they will not be able to concentrate on a thing for a long time and they may be grumpy easily. In addition, using a smartphone for long hours can cause some health problems. For example, according to medical research, children who use a smartphone for hours have a high risk to be shortsighted. On top of that, kids may refuse to interact with people in real society. That is to say, youngsters who overuse a smartphone can be obsessed with the virtual community of social sites and may not prefer to communicate with people in the real community. To summarize, there are a lot of reasons why children use their smartphone for long hours a day, and this trend offers vast setbacks.