The percentage of overweight children in western countries has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the last ten years, the number of children suffering from obesity in western countries has risen by almost 20%. Doing less exercise and eating much junk food are the main reasons for that. As a result, children ’s health deteriorated, causing many health issues, and overweight children might lose confidence as well. One of the first reasons the number of obesity increased so quickly is that children always sitting and lack exercise. For example, as technology developed, children are more willing to spend more time sitting before the computer and playing computer games rather than going outside to have a walk. Another reason that needs to be considered is children are the main group of people who consume fatty food. Such as chips and pizza which are full of oil. Consequently, those unhealthy diets would cause weight growth rapidly. Obesity would cause many health issues for children. For example, they might have a high blood level or diabetes at a very young age, so they need to pay more attention to their playing and Eating Behavior. They cannot play with everything as well as eat everything, this might cause some psychological problems. In addition, some overweight children might lose confidence in themselves. Because of obesity, children might not like to express themselves freely since they are afraid of judgement coming from other people, such as giving a performance before their peers. Thus, obesity might cause ill-effect both on their body and their maid. In conclusion, lack of exercise and eating much junk food would lead to a bad effect on children ’s bodies and minds. Teachers in the school should always give some health education classes and parents should give their children a good example at home.