In spite of the advances made in agriculture,many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

There is a widespread phenomenon that after all the improvements made in agriculture, significant number of individuals globally are without food. This essay shall first of all outline the key factors as to why people are still hungry and further bring to bare solutions to this problem after which a logical conclusion shall be made. First of all, lack of personnel’s to work in the sector is one of the enormous reason contributing to famine globally. A lot of youths after graduation want to sit in the offices and work rather than to be on the farms. Therefore there is nobody to operate the sophisticated machines and so the few farmers do it to feed their families and not on commercial basis. Also, lack of technical know how account for this. Most of these equipments are manufactured in the foreign countries and when imported, some do not come with its manuals or those that have it too can not be read and understood because it is written in a different language and so these machines are left unused and people go back to work with their hands. For example, it was reported that quite a lot of equipments brought in from China to help boast the rice plantation farm in Temale has been abandoned for the past two years due to the non availability of personnel to manage it. In terms of solution, the government should make the agriculture department attractive for the youngsters so that majority will be willing to work there after school to handle the new equipments brought in with their knowledge and skills. Again, transporters of farming items should ensure that how to use the things are attached to it and is also written in different languages so that it can be used without them. For instance, since it was announced at the national food day celebration that graduate’s entering the agriculture sector would be given a car and accommodation, the workforce has increased as well as local rice production from 5% to 20%. In conclusion, considering the core reasons and associated solutions, it would therefore be necessary to motivate the educated young ones to take up farming.