Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that teenagers should spend their time doing unpaid work to help the community. Such people believe that it can benefit both the individual and the society. I disagree with the latter. Teenagers already have a lot of work taking up their time like homework, class assignments, exam revision, etc. For example, many schools usually want their students to improve their grades, and they believe that by giving them more assignments would help. In my opinion, I feel that teenagers should spend their leisure doing something that they love or want to do. Some like to volunteer in community services, and others like to play games, take part in sports or other activities. Adding on, I do not think teenagers doing unpaid work would benefit society in any way. To support my opinion, I would like to state that society already has many people volunteering to help the community. I do not think that teenagers would be suitable for these kinds of things. For example, in Vietnam, there are many organisations that do not allow adolescents as they find them hard to deal with. In my opinion, teens would normally like activities that are more exciting and action-packed. To summarize, I disagree with the statement of having teenagers do unpaid voluntary work as an essential part of their school life. Teenagers should spend their time and live their life having fun because they still have a long life ahead of them and even if they want to volunteer in non-profit community services, society would not benefit from them.