Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Advanced technology has brought forward immense opportunities with one being, the ability to connect with people world wide. It is no secret that multitudes believe that social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram have a damaging impact on youngsters from our society and their ability to establish personal relationships. On the contrary however, others would argue, stating the opposite. In my opinion, the negative effects of such sites outweigh the benefits. Inevitably, social media has provided massive exposure to young people which allows teenagers to meet various people worldwide and even befriend them. It is vital to discuss the immense pros social media provides when it comes to social networking as well. This is a especially favorable for people who struggle with social anxiety or are not surrounded with people of their interest. Similarly, many online businesses have boomed as social media has provided entrepreneurs to reach potential customers on a global level through online marketing. However, many firmly believe that forming healthy and successful relationships require more than just short term communication from day to day. Meeting people in person allows you to observe and evaluate people on their best and worst times. Consequently, interactions with the wrong people can lead to dangerous and unfavorable situations that could easily be avoided in real life, such as scams. It is more easy and frequent for fraudulent scams to occur online. Moreover, cyber bullying is another major phenomenon witnessed at a daily that strongly facilitates my belief as well as many others. It is not unusual to find yourself in harmful circumstances on such global sites which can deteriorate people ’s mental health, leading to increased suicide rates. There is no coincidence that depression is on the rise in our young generation where social media plays a crucial role in life. To conclude, social media has become a part of everyday life as it provides you the convenience to connect with people worldwide and formulate friendships. However, in my perspective, relationships are more likely to be long term if in real life. This also helps us avoid potential harm that could occur online.