Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree?

There is a significant rise in illegal activities across the world. Some individuals believe that, in order to curtail crime, sending the criminals to jail is the most successful method, while critics negate it and believe that providing a good education helps in mitigating the prevailing offences. I am fully convinced with the latter viewpoint and I will discuss my opinion in the below-mentioned paragraphs. To begin with, there are myriads of reasons for my beliefs. Firstly, education helps a person to build their career and grab a well-paid job. As most of the crimes were executed for the sake of money only. Therefore, a proper education helps a man to earn a good well-paid job, consequently, it will reduce the crime rate in the nation. For example, in the city of Denmark, in the year 2019, the Government had taken the initiative to provide free education to the children of slum areas, as a result, minor misdeeds like pickpocketing and chain snatching rates decreased drastically by almost 87 per cent in the area. Secondly, education helps an individual to remain occupied most of the day, as a result, there remains very less time for them to perform other activities. Since various offences like snatching or murder require a huge amount of time for their execution, hence, involving them in different educational activities provides them with no time for other unnecessary things. To exemplify, in a recent survey conducted by the Crime branch of India,in the year 2018, it had been revealed that, providing free education at an early age, then a hectic college schedule, then huge job hours, makes a human being occupied for the whole day besides distracting them from unlawful activities. Furthermore, an efficient education system encourages a human to pursue their career in fulfilling their dream skills hence that knowledge would definitely benefit society both, directly as well as indirectly, because of that, they feel motivated and encouraged, and their skills help in uplifting the nation, moreover, it makes them feel recognised in the community for their work. For that,reason training is considered to be a better option to reduce crime. To conclude, education helps a man to pursue their skills and knowledge, which will automatically make them earn good remuneration. Hence it helps in diverting their mind from criminal action to these productive acts for their fame, as well as, for the benefit of the whole community.