Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products because it is good for the economy. Others believe it is bad for the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the effect of increasing sales of consumer goods on society. In my opinion, this trend benefits the economy and society to some extent, but its negative effects should also be noticed. The reason why some countries stimulate consumption is that it gives a boost to economic growth. As the demand goes up, manufacturers need to increase their production to meet it. As a result, more jobs would be created and the enterprises would flourish. Accordingly, the government would receive higher tax revenues. Moreover, the general public wants to improve their living standard. With the better economic condition, it is justified for people to spend more money on buying various kinds of goods and enjoy better material life. On the other hand, there are some problems that should not be denied. Firstly, this trend leads to the waste of resources and pressure on the environment. Because of the increasing demand for new products, the consumption of fuel and raw materials has been growing year by year, which gives rise to a severe shortage of energy and resources. Many people throw away old things and the disposal of waste has become a thorny task. Another concern is the loss of traditional values among young people. They squander food, clothes and money and compete over material things with their peers, which is harmful to their individual development as well as the society. In conclusion, the boom of commerce should be encouraged. Nevertheless, to avoid its negative influence on society, we need to promote environmentally friendly lifestyles and object to any waste in our lives.