Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether scientific studies should be conducted by the government or individual corporations. While someone may disagree, I believe that government should be responsible for scientific study. Several reasons are put in place why the government should take charge of the research. First of all, it can be safe when a dangerous technology is developed by the government. For example, if private corporations can take part in the development of nuclear weapons, it is extremely dangerous and they may be sold weapons to others in terms of benefits while ignore the outcome it may bring to society. Secondly, the money spent by the government mainly comes from taxes. Therefore, it is possible for every citizen to enjoy the advantages of a novel scientific finding. If it is carried out by companies, only the rich can have the chance to benefit from it. Nevertheless, I would have to agree that there are also some benefits when scientific studies are carried out by personal companies. The main advantage may be that a useful scientific result can make direct profits so that more job opportunities is given to not only scientists but also ordinary people. Since a company also need people who take charge of sale or other support. What is more, it is more efficient to conduct a research program by companies. Less money can be wasted and more findings may be obtained through a large investment. In conclusion, although there are some benefits to carrying out research programs by companies, I believe it is better for government to take the responsibility of scientific research.