Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is common that young people spend most of their time on electric gadgets (especially mobile phones). As far as I am concerned, there might be acceptable excuses as well as bad sides for this and in this essay, the reason why I think it is a positive progress will be clarified. Firstly, there are two contradictory views for teenagers using phones. Looking at the bright side, as this era is becoming more competitive than ever, it is wise to consider the fact that adolescents spend several hours on smartphones not to fall behind others. This means that they strive to compete with their peers all on their own while only using a single electric device. As a result, they will be able to solve problems, evaluate themselves and hopefully hone their skills until they become ones who can stand on their own feet. On the other hand, the worst cases should also be taken into consideration. Needless to say, video games and online interactive games are becoming so addictive that children cannot help playing them all the time while ignoring their homework and assignments for their academy. As an example, lying to their parents that they are searching for information for their projects while actually playing games could not be a good sign. From my point of view, regardless of negative aspects, I believe that this is the benefit to teenagers as it will train them to have a better control of themselves, hence enhancing to develop self-commitment. In conclusion, mobile phone is similar to a knife. If it is used in the right place and time, it will give us profound beneficial effects. However, if it is misused, it can be a killing machine. Therefore, adolescents should use smartphones with high awareness in order to achieve their goals.