some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is claimed by some,that people learn a new language for no other reason but to work or travel to another nation, whereas some others mention that these are not the only factors regarding why people should master a foreign tongue. I believe that speaking a new language is bound to neither profession nor excursion and it can be learned for a variety of reasons including boosting the brain's function. The only purpose of learning a foreign language is due to occupation and trips to foreign countries. As languages are a means of communication, we can't expect to socialize with locals in our mother tongue. When our destination is a small country, not knowing their mother tongue can be frustrating because then we'll have to use various translating apps or hire a tour guide to effectively socialize with locals. another salient point to bear in mind is that since we can't attend any meetings or events with acceptable efficiency, companies nowadays have set language proficiency as a requirement for job positions. For these reasons, speaking a foreign language is a vitality if one has to work or go on a trip there. take immigrants as an example, if they master the local dialect, they are able to mix with their co-workers in a more effective way, hence, they have a higher chance of expanding their professional life. Having said that, I don't see eye to eye with the group of people that bind the necessity of mastering a new tongue to work and travel.primarily, it is a great method for memory training and as a,result the chances of diagnosis with a disease such as Alzheimer's will drastically decrease. Neurologists suggest that training our brain with methods such as practising another language, reading words backwards etc can keep memory loss at bay. My grandfather for,instance used this method with a view to increasing his brain function and his doctor admitted that his improvements were striking. In conclusion, while mastering a foreign language because we have to work or travel there is a reason why folks learn it, it is not the only factor and other reasons such as brain training and making online friends from different countries can be a motivation as well.