Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is widely believed that government goverments are to blame for the rising number of obese children in society today. I strongly agree with this point of view for a number of reasons. Most governments fail to regulate that advertisements of various nutrition-poor foods that target the youth. As well as this, little has been done to provide healthier and cheaper food alternatives. This essay will further expand on these points and their effects. First of all, I will discuss the failure of the governing bodies to regulate the advertising campaigns of many global junk food corporations that target adolescents. Health and food ministries often do not monitor the content of advertisements giving complete freedom to marketing companies, with few boundaries and instructions as to how they should be done. This has resulted in companies such as Cadburys and MacDonalds often promoting various foodstuffs that are detrimental to our well-being, to our most vulnerable and easily gullible members of society. This usually leads to children often pressuring their parents into purchase these snacks or meals,often succeeding without knowing the full implications of these products on their health. Additionally, little has been done to introduce healthier food choices in many grocery stores. Struggling parents are often forced to buy cheaper less nutritionous nutritional food as nutritious beneficial choices are often unavailable or pricier. This can be seen in food deserts in certain regions of the USA whereby black and latino communities have rising number of obese children due to limited healthier food products. In this instance the government should intervene and provide better food in these areas, as their inability to do so has led to increasing number of youth obesity as well as the coresponding health effects. To conclude, childhood obesity is a matter of growing concern. The government are mostly to blame as they have failed to prevent certain adverts from airing as well as provide beneficial nutrient rich foods to certain isolated communities. Movinf forward, more should be done to tackle this epidemic.