Many governments are investing less in roads and more in public transport systems. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Transport demand has increased remarkably in the past few decades. Therefore, many countries tend to spend more money on developing public transportation rather than roads. I think there are more advantages to improving the public transportation system. To begin with, developing public transportation has lots of benefits. Firstly, it would help for the proper town and country planning with the urbanization. Thus, organizing cities enhance the productivity of people by reducing traffic jams and hours spent on roads. Hence, governments can introduce new transportation modes to society. As an example countries like Singapore, Dubai have introduced monorails, buses, trains, trams, undergrounds, coaches and etc. with more facilities, accurate timing for less cost compelled human beings to use more public transport. This will discourage the community from using their own motor cars which allows them to save their money and time spent on maintaining and servicing their private vehicles. As an example, the Dubai metro is one of the most modern cost-effective public transport in the world and this has connected people through an official app that can be freely downloaded to mobile phones. The other main benefit is in terms of the environment. The major cities in all countries cause environmental pollution due to their heavy carbon emission. Because of that, minimizing the number of private vehicles coming into the cities which carry a single human being instead of a large number of people can be reduced by escalating the public transport system. This will help to lower the amount of carbon emission to an extent. However, there are some disadvantages to counting on public transportation. Since the space is limited and the number of passengers travelling at a time can lead to issues with travelling with kids and disabled crowds. Furthermore, if special hygiene is not practised, riders can contact some communicable diseases due to the limited space. In conclusion, though there are few drawbacks to using public transport, it has considerable advantages to both environment and the community. Therefore, the benefits of investing more in the public transport system outweigh the disadvantages.