Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many are of the belief that the progress of technology has widened income inequality between social classes. I agree with this view as, although technology ensures equal levels of accessibility, it also concentrates capital in the hands of a few. Detractors often argue that technology has allowed the underprivileged greater access to information. This relates chiefly to information technology and the growth of the internet and devices that support connectivity. In the past, only those educated in universities could read certain academic articles and important research. The internet now makes it possible for the majority of the world’s population to locate a wide variety of information on every topic imaginable. The effect is a more equal playing field when it comes to education that then has a domino effect on later standards of living. Nonetheless, advances in technology are paving the way for an increased accumulation of capital by select individuals and corporations. In the past, an employee working a good job could generate most of their money from salary. Today, most income comes from reinvested capital. This has widened the gap between socio- economic classes and technology only exacerbates this by replacing human jobs annually and hastening the growth of conglomerates like Google and Amazon. These companies, and their shareholders, are able to profit off existing capital while the average worker struggles to make ends meet or faces the prospect of unemployment due to technological innovation. In summary, technology cuts down on some societal impediments to success but erects other, stronger economic barriers. This also partially explains the recent calls for a universal basic income to combat growing inequality.