Some people think that a job provides not only an income but also a social life. Other people think that it is better to develop a social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Work is a major part of our lives. On average, we spend around half a century at work, therefore, it is unsurprising that some individuals socialise with colleagues. Some disapprove of this, and, admittedly, there are valid reasons for this; nevertheless, there are benefits of spending time together outside of working hours. Mixing your work and social life could be risky for several reasons. Firstly, the relationship between managers and staff might become difficult to manage. For example, I had a good rapport with a former manager and we frequently met up after work; however, when there was an issue at work, he found it difficult to deal with because of our close friendship. In addition, when you get together with your colleagues, you tend to talk about work and this might not be good for your mental health, as you need to switch off. Finally, you need to be careful how you behave because if a video of inappropriate behaviour was posted on social media, it could be detrimental to your career. Despite these drawbacks, spending time with fellow employees can be advantageous. Firstly, teamwork can improve, as there is good communication between staff members and we tend to co-operate better with people we get on well with. Furthermore, if you are contented at work, you are likely to be less stressed. Moreover, in contemporary society, it is particularly difficult to make friends, as everyone is leading such busy lives, therefore, making friends with co-workers could prevent loneliness. There are certainly risks involved with socialising with fellow workers, and, for this reason, everyone needs to behave appropriately. Despite this, I feel that if everyone acts professionally whilst in the workplace, and has enjoyable interactions outside of it, there should not be an issue.