Some people say that advertising is extremely succesful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, some people believe that advertising has a powerful impact in encouraging people to purchase things, while others assume that advertising is a common method that has the least influence in persuading people to buy stuff. This essay will examine both views, and I will explain why Elaboration Likelihood Model (ELM) in ads would provide a better outcome to persuade the public. To begin with, advertising is a routine publication that can not be separated from daily life, it can be found easily in most public spaces even on private devices. Considering the amount of commercial consumption, many people tend to be ignorant about ad attendance and would prefer to focus on their own businesses, instead of paying attention to the displaying ads. This phenomenon thus results in an inefficient marketing strategy, with failure in building public awareness of certain brands. Although advertising appeared to become a source of distractions for some people, it still remains important for the company to establish the product image by exposing ads. Responding to the concerns by encouraging people to have awareness and purchase products, commercial publications presume as a necessary method to boost sales. Nevertheless, the triumph of the ads will depend on how the product is presented. Consequently, the company should create a proportional strategy, which can be actualized by implementing an elaboration likelihood model that combines both peripheral route and central route. To illustrate, the product placement of coffee candy named Kopiko on the well-known Korean drama called Vicenzo. This strategy succeeded in accelerating the company's profits and even increased the share value of the brand. Thus, soft selling ads are considered a more efficient way to obtain public attention against products. To conclude, even though ads may be recognized as a less attractive tool in capturing public desire to buy things, there are additional circumstances that can be applied to maximizing the function of advertising.