Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is true that at present, a significant portion of the general public has a tendency to opt for self-employment rather than being an employee. This essay will discuss several likely reasons behind this trend,and drawbacks such as financial difficulties and minor health issues that could result from this behaviour. It is reasonable to assume that the current ubiquity of jobs with the low possibility of getting promotions and people's deeper understanding of entrepreneurship are two of the main driving forces behind this behaviour.To elucidate further, due to an increasing number of employees,most modern jobs have slim chances of getting promoted in a workplace. Thus, in order to avoid dead-end jobs, people tend to be self-employed.As for the second reason, statistics show that people in the past prefer job security to establishing their own businesses. This indicates that people in the past had sceptical views about self-employment,but because of the current availability of resources and knowledge banks, an increasing number of people switch to self-employment nowadays. However, potential drawbacks such as financial struggles and problems threatening the well-being of a person could arise from self-employment.To establish a private business, capital is needed for initial investment purposes,and if the self-establish enterprise were to face a failure, money would be drained from the owner's pocket.When it comes to management, self-employed individuals would have to carefully handle and consider every factor,since the fate of the business is in their own hands. For example, due to the responsibility being solely on the establisher, they are likely to suffer from more health issues stemming from stress. In conclusion, in my opinion, better insight gained from current sources and low promotion chances influence people's decision on becoming self-employed.Mild mental-based diseases and financial complications could be regarded as disadvantages of self-employment.