Some industrialized countries have serious environmental problems. The damage to the environment is an inevitable result when a country tends to improve the standard of living. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Like the United Kingdom, many industrialized countries suffer from the serious environmental problems nowadays. From my point of view, I do not think that making a better life will actually cause the environment worse. In the past 50 years, more and more industrial products, which are efficient and good for our life, were created, such as the railways, the airplanes and the cars. These advanced tools are often driven by oil, in which process many toxic gases could discharge out to pollute the air. They have provided much convenience for us. Nevertheless, we could completely exploit some renewable energy to replace the oil-driving tools. Firstly, some car factories should seek some approaches to develop the driven system using the electricity, which is an alternative to an oil-driven system. In the meantime, we can generate electricity by some green, renewable resources, like wind, hydro and the solar power. In addition, countries all over the world should collaborate together to make laws and policies to prevent the environment from being worse. More and more environmental consortiums will be founded in the future, to gather the intelligence of the human beings to achieve the goal of making a better ecosystem. Only through the awareness of environmental protection increases day by day, can we preserve our beautiful earth and life. So, leading a sustainable lifestyle will be more and more important in the future. In conclusion, to live a better life is actually not opponent to protecting the environment. I truly believe that we can even improve our life on the basis of taking advantage of the technologies and the increasing notion of low carbon lifestyles.