Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Online purchase modes have been well-developed in recent years. Some populations believe this shopping pattern is much more beneficial than visiting reality shops. Personally, I agree with this notion, and the reasons will be explained in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, online shopping could be a more wisely and convenient purchasing way than shopping in physical stores for buyers. To illustrate, the internet shopping platforms provide numerous products for purchasers’ selection such as Amazon and eBay. In other words, which allows buyers to compare the prices, specifications between models, and without the time limitation. For instance, most physical stores are not 24 hours operation and usually close in the evening, which is unfriendly to the public who work late. However, online shopping platforms without a time barrier, allow citizens to order goods anytime when they are free. Secondly, online shopping platforms are without regional restrictions, which is significantly helpful for the people who live outside central cities. To elaborate, people who live in rural areas only have fewer options can choose from, and some products such as books, arts, and sports instruments, are required to be purchased in cities. However, internet shopping modes are accessible to all consumers who only need networking. For example, in Hong Kong, a survey investigating the preferences in their shopping pattern reported that approximately 90% of people who live outside central cities are willing to choose online shopping mode rather than visit real stores because of convenience and flexibility. In conclusion, the benefits of shopping in a virtual sector are significant to outweigh purchasing in real shops based on the flexibility, convenience and accessibility.