Some people think that all lawbreakers should be taken into prison. In contrast, others believe there are better alternatives (for example, doing work or learning skills in the community). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays the law is changing for those who commit a crime. It used to be stronger and there were severe sentences. Now, the punishment is less physical and work communities are suggested. Some people consider that if someone is a lawbreaker as a result they should be taken to jail while others say that it depends on the range or the level of how this breaker is classified and instead choose another type of penalty. In this essay, I will support each statement and give my point of view. To start with, those who believe all lawbreakers should be imprisoned argue that sending criminals to prison is an effective way to prevent future crimes. Imprisoning those who break the law reinforces that such actions have consequences. For instance, any who decides to break the law would think twice before committing any assault. It would help to reduce crime and violence in a city. However, many people think that instead of sending lawbreakers to prison, they can benefit the community by punishing them with other better alternatives. Rather than simply warehousing criminals together in prison, requiring them to do constructive work such as cleaning up public spaces or assisting the elderly can even instil positive behaviour. For example, a person who can see how they can collaborate to make a place better and help in a healing process would notice the impact of his/her actions in the surroundings helping them to grow and change. To sum up, Strict prison is not the only way to deliver justice. There are other alternatives like community service and rehabilitative programs should also be considered, especially for youth and first-time offenders convicted. As far as I am concerned, justice can be served through both imprisonment and rehabilitative community service, with the goal being to improve behaviour.