The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing? Give some reasons and solutions for it.

Nowadays, there is a discernable upward trend of people suffering illnesses related to obesity, such as heart disease and fatty liver. In this essay, I will try to shed some light on the possible reasons for this phenomenon and suggest some ways to mitigate the problem. First thing first, living in this internet era, unlimited attractions like social media applications, video games and online drama subscriptions platforms catch our attention like never before and these inevitably lead to sedentary living styles. For example, in the past, if we wanted to watch a TV drama, we might need to sit down on our couch punctually at eight every night. Now we only have to press a button and can then watch ten episodes in one go whenever we are convenient. No wonder the time spent on watching TV, or online drama apps like Netflix if you don't consider it TV, has increased. Similarly, the video quality of video games has improved by a hundred folds. These activities have collectively kicked the traditional outdoor sports out of a lot of people's weekly routines. Another unneglectable cause is that more people drive their cars to work compared with decades before. It does not take a genius to understand that, controlling a steering wheel consumes less energy than standing in a metro train for an hour. In some cities, take Paris as an example, you also need to walk long staircases when you need to change platforms when taking the metro. So, can this situation be reversed? I have to admit that, it is easier said than done. If you ever ask modern people to get rid of their smartphones, internet games or stop driving to work, you would probably receive a polite refusal, if you are lucky enough. Still, creative ways can be adopted to somehow increase our exposure to exercises. For example, I bought a small paddling machine for my mother so that she can train her legs while watching TV. In conclusion, the existence of all kinds of electronic attractions and the increase in the number of drivers reduces exercise opportunities for the public, yet we can always find creative solutions to keep ourselves from overweight if we really have a burning desire to do so.