People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

These days, a lot of stuff is advertised through all kinds of platforms. Advertisements can be seen everywhere, be it online or offline. While some people believe that advertisements have affected people in a good way, some others argue that advertisements do more harm than they do good. This essay though, thinks that advertising has brought positive effects on people ’s lives. The main positive effect is that advertising can help people in choosing the right product, but it also makes people more consumptive. Advertisement is a tool to introduce a product to the consumer. This tool, for instance, helps people to find the stuff they need. Additionally, people can use the ads as a way to identify whether the products they are about to purchase have all the specifications they require. Therefore, they can avoid buying the wrong things and make a satisfying purchase. When we take this into account, the advertisement indeed has a positive effect on our lives. Although advertising has helped many people in making good purchases, excessive advertising is thought to affect people ’s buying behaviour in a negative light. One of the negative effects of advertising is overbuying. Too many advertisements lure people into buying things they most of the time do not need. This, of course, leads to consumerism. Therefore, it is clear that excessive advertising equals excessive spending. While it can be seen that advertising can lead to consumerism, it also helps people choose the right products for them. Hence, this essay is leaning towards the main positive effect that advertising possesses. As a matter of fact, overspending can be avoided by having self-control.