Some people think success in life comes from hard work and determination. Others think money and appearance are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the attainment of success in life has become a hot topic of debate. While some people perceive that wealth and physical appearance are essential to success, others believe that devotion and diligence are critical to succeeding in life. In this essay, I shall discuss why extrinsic factors, such as money and appearance, play a role in life achievement but why intrinsic factors, including determination and diligence, are more crucial. There are numerous compelling reasons why people think money and outward looks are attributable to attaining accomplishments and the prominent one is that they enable people to access a vast variety of social resources in an easy way. As a result, people with affluent backgrounds and attractive looks have more leverage to utilize in the process of pursuing success. For example, children from rich families can afford to attend classes like skiing and musical instruments from a young age, which are attributed to improving their comprehensive abilities. As can be seen, people have good reasons to believe those extrinsic factors have a profound impact on achieving success. On the contrary, some oppose this statement and say that hard work and devotion are more significant as those valuable characteristics assist us to overcome any hurdles on the way to success. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Japan suggested that assiduous and determined students can better withstand pressure and accomplish their goals in a competitive society. Therefore, those core values are vital for us to attain achievements. To sum up, people's opinions about attaining success are various. Taking everything into consideration, I am inclined to believe that intrinsic values, such as diligence and determination, hold much more significance compared to the external influences, including money and appearance.