A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (Frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way ?

In recent times, due to fast-paced life, a large number of population depend on restaurants and frozen or packed food which are available in convenience stores instead of home-cooked meals in their daily lives. This current trend has both merits and demerits, which I will explain with relevant examples in the following essay. To begin with, there are some advantages that can be considered to support this factor. One significant advantage is that individuals can save time through ready-to-eat meals, which could be beneficial for them to do other essential work or complete goals. To illustrate, according to data from the University of Waterloo, nowadays, 60% of people prefer to eat in hotels or use packed food because of their hectic schedules. Another notable benefit is that one can get a variety of tasty food under one roof at restaurants and cafes. Apart from that, purchasing packed food in bulk is more cheaper than buying fresh ingredients from the supermarket. On the other side, we can not ignore the downsides. First and foremost, food from restaurants has more calories, fat, and sugars, which can lead to obesity and other health related issues to humans. Additionally, eating outside in hotels is expensive in the present time compared to prepare meals at home. For instance, due to the high cost, people prefer to organize parties or get-togethers for their loved ones at house with home-made food. Last but not the least, because of busy time and crowds individuals have to wait longer time. As a result, they experience less time for enjoyment. In conclusion, enjoying packed food and eating out at restaurants have their own pros and cons however, it is totally depends on the people's choices, situations and circumstances. Other than that, home-cooked food is always on the top rather than anything else.