In many countries,financial crime involving identity theft is increasing. What are the causes of these trend and what effects does it identity thefts have on the victims involved.

FINANCIAL CRIMES INVOLVING IDENTITY THEFT IS ON THE RISE DUE TO TECHNOLOGICAL ADVANCE IN SOME COUNTRIES. THIS ESSAY WILL EXPLAIN THE POSSIBLE CAUSES OF THIS PROBLEM CAN BE AND WHAT SORT OF EFFECTS THIS PROBLEM HAVE ON VICTIMS. THE OBVIOUS CAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM IS ADVANCES IN TECHNOLOGY. PAYMENT METHOD HAS EVOLVED TO ONLINE INSTEAD OF FACE-TO-FACE AND A LOT OF FRAUD WEBSITES HAS EMERGED THROUGH THESE IMPROVEMENTS. TO AN EXTENT IN DETAIL, PEOPLE PREFER TO SHOP ONLINE INSTEAD OF THE TRADITIONAL WAY AND OWING TO DO IT, THEY USE SOME UNRELIABLE WEBSITES. NEEDLESS TO SAY, IN ORDER TO COMPLETE THE SHOP, THEY GIVE THEIR PERSONAL INFORMATION INCLUDING THEIR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER AND CREDIT CARD INFOS TO FRAUDS’ INFORMATION POOLS. ALONG THE WAY, AN INNOCENT BUYER TURNS INTO A NAIVE VICTIM. THIS CRIME HAS SOME DETRIMENTAL CONSEQUENCES ON THE VICTIM ’S LIFE IN TERMS OF FINANCIAL AND PSYCHOLOGICAL. TO EXTENT IN DETAIL, FIRSTLY, THE STOLEN INFORMATION CAN BE USED FOR ENORMOUS PURCHASES BY CYBER CRIMINALS AND THIS MAY CAUSE A DEBT FOR THE VICTIM AND A VICIOUS CYCLE STARTS AS A FINANCIAL PROBLEM. AS THE VICTIM TRIES TO ESCAPE HIMSELF FROM THE DEBT HE MAY HAVE TO FACE WITH MENTAL ILLNESS AND IT MAY CONTINUE WITH OBSTACLES IN THE FAMILY LIFE. TO SUM UP, WHILE PEOPLE’S LIVES ARE BEING EASED BY TECHNOLOGY, PROTECTING PERSONAL DETAILS GET MORE REACHABLE AND THIS CAUSE AN INCREASE IN CYBERCRIME AS IDENTITY THEFT. BEING A VICTIM CAN HAVE DETRIMENTAL EFFECTS ON THE MENTAL HEALTH OF THE VICTIM BESIDES FINANCIAL ONES.