Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that competition should motivate children, others believe that they should be taught how to cooperate, rather than compete, for adulthood. From my point of view, although both play a significant role in the children ’s education, cooperation is more crucial to their social and personal development as a future adult. Firstly, competition is believed to be an essential subject for children to deal with an extremely competitive society. They argue that children will learn how to handle frustration of losses, to have discipline, and will help them to know how to improve their development to achieve success in the future, in areas such as academics and the workplace, where competition is prevalent.. For instance, it is well-known that competitive sports are beneficial to young people because they learn how to overcome obstacles and how to improve their personal development in the future. Despite the benefits of competition, I argue that children need lessons in teamwork and cooperation more than they need the drive to win. On the other hand, others believe cooperation is more valuable to children ’s education because they will be taught how to live in a society. Through cooperation with others, young people can improve their social development, dealing with and respecting different opinions, working in a team, and creating relationships not only in the future at work but even with family and friends. For example, preschools include cooperation as one of the first skills in their curriculum as they recognize that it is a vital social skill in all spheres of life. For that reason, I believe that teaching young people to cooperate with others is more significant than giving them a sense of competition. To conclude, many people believe that children should learn how to be competitive to help them succeed as adults, however, I argue that teaching them how to be cooperative is more beneficial because give them the ability to be part of a team and create relationships in the society, which is far more valuable later in life.