The unlimited use of cars may cause problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people to use cars? Give a reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There has been a significant increase in the total number of vehicles sold nowadays as compared to the last decade. Our dependency on automobiles poses a plethora of challenges before us. In this essay, I will discuss these obstacles while rendering some solutions to tackle these problems effectively. To begin with, some people think that excessive use of automobiles entails hideous traffic congestion and environmental damage. The reason for this is that Co2 emissions released from vehicles are harmful to all living beings, which can lead to respiratory infections as per a report published in a gazette newspaper. In addition to that, because a lot of people can afford private wagons these days owing to a better standard of living and easy borrowing options, this often leads to traffic jams and congestion at both peak and non-peak hours, defeating the purpose of travelling privately. For example, it takes more than one hour during peak time to travel a minuscule distance in my city, New Delhi. That being said, I would argue that these challenges can be overcome easily by invention from the government. Firstly, the government should encourage its citizens to use other alternatives, such as hybrid automobiles or public transportation. By doing this, the problem of air pollution can be minimised to an extent. Secondly, the government should invest in building separate lanes for cyclists and pedestrians, encouraging its law-abiding citizens to use these lanes by levying higher taxes on the purchase of automobiles. To illustrate this point, a lot of European countries, especially Norway, have carved separate lanes for cyclists. In conclusion, although dependency on cars can result in a multitude of problems, such as traffic congestion and air pollution, these problems can be reduced by considering the suggestions stated above.