Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their wastes?

Nowadays, due to population growth, the volume of rubbish and waste materials is increasing, especially household waste. Therefore, most countries with sophisticated recycling systems are trying to tackle more effective with this problem. However, some people believe that there is just one method to improve recycling, which is law enforcement. In my opinion, I agree with this approach that is imposing legal restrictions to enhance recycling, but it can be more effective if the government setting encouraging rules, additionally. To begin with, people usually throw away their recyclable garbage with the general waste. They do not follow the recycling approach, and sort waste into different categories based on their material, because it is time-consuming and may be confusing for them. Therefore, they prefer to throw all different types of rubbish away in just one bin. So, here is where the law can obligate people to separate their waste even if they are reluctant to do it. In other words, households enforce the law to avoid paying any fines. However, the governments can consider encouraging programs in addition to legal requirements to promote the recycling system. Indeed, if the governments allocate some supportive funds, such as discounts for purchasing or taxes, people are more inclined to recycle their waste, and cooperate with the governments to boost the recycling system. In this regard, the governments can educate and aware people through advertisements. For example, they can produce short movies to show the importance of recycling and persuade people to follow their encouraging rules. In conclusion, I believe that the governments should make a mandatory law for householders to recycle their waste. Although, they should set complementary programs which encouraging people to follow their recycling programs.