The best way to improve standards in education is to ensure that class sizes are small. Do you agree or disagree.

Many suggestions have been made to achieve better results with respect to education, yet only a few seem to work. Some argue that education quality can be improved by keeping the class size small. While I think this measure is sure to help raise the quality of education, it is not without its downsides. To start, one should consider some possible drawbacks to holding a class for a small number of students. One immediate concern is the costs of education. Once the class size shrinks, each remaining individual student should pay extra to make up for the cost that would otherwise be split among many other students. This can particularly be problematic in areas where school funding is limited like private schools. One other possible outcome is the shift in student personality. Students learning in relatively small groups of 3 to 5 tend to develop less social behaviour and do not get many chances to learn to work as a team: one cannot be an exemplary citizen if they are not a good team player. Having said that, I support small class sizes to attain better standards in education. The first reason for this has to do with longer student-teacher interaction. Admittedly, once the class size is down to, say 5, the teacher is able to give each student more of his/her time and attention. This gives the teacher plenty of time to discuss class content like homework and a new chapter for the day and a chance to find out more about their students. More than just discussing assignments, time saved from not having to teach an oversized class can be used to do additional classroom activities to further hammer home concepts learnt in the class. Considering both these benefits, a small class size is generally the more preferable, should one wishes to boost education quality. In conclusion, although there are some problems associated with downsizing in the classroom, I am of the view that it is an advisable course of action as far as improving standards in education go.