In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is true that nowadays an increasing amount of population starts to think about the history behind their homes. Several factors contribute to this phenomenon, and people can conduct the survey through various methods. There are three main reasons why people start trying to figure out the stories behind their houses. Firstly, with social economic development, people start to pay more attention to their cultural life, of which the history of buildings is an interesting part. Secondly, cities and countries see more immigrations nowadays, and these people are not familiar with the culture of the places they move to. Therefore, it would be a good start to learn about the history of the houses they are living in. For example, I was told my dormitory was actually built on the site of a palace of the Tang Dynasty when I moved to my university in the ancient city Xi’an. It made me really excited and then I spent a large amount of time effort to find information about it. Finally, for businessmen, a profound history might make a location more valuable so that they can sell the houses for a better price. There are several ways to search the history of a building. The most quickest and easiest way is to check online. Just type your location and what you are looking for, you will see a large quantity of information in front of you. Besides using the Internet, one can also ask the old people who have lived there since they were young. These local residents will definitely tell some vivid stories about the place where they grow up. Also, for those who are good at reading, it is a practical method to look for archives of the city and the building in the library. In conclusion, to learn about the culture, to get familiar with a new place, and to add value to the houses are three main reasons that push people find the past of their house or building, and they can do this online, through asking the old or in the library.