In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, the trend of eating fast food has led to many health problems for people. I firmly believe that having a lot of fast food brings a lot of disadvantages and totally oppose the idea that increasing taxes would tackle this phenomenon. Although fast food is not healthy, it has become a culture as people nowadays are busier and also have a tight schedule. Therefore, they prefer eating fast food because it is cheap and convenient as well. Consequently, it means that these people have little awareness of its effects on their health in the future. Furthermore, fast food contains ingredients that are not healthy such as a high amount of cholesterol, preservatives, food colours and fat, hence these factors will lead to many serious diseases like obesity, diabetes or even high blood pressure. According to research in China, the high amount of oil and fat in their fast food is the main reason for the increasing number of people suffering from obesity. Some people said that it is necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on fast food to change this issue and I firmly believe that this suggestion might not be effective. Firstly, this implementation cannot change the fact that people would still keep in mind that fast food is the most suitable option to help them save their time for work. Instead, raising awareness for people about the demerits fast food brings to their health can settle this problem. For example, the government should propagate the importance of staying healthy by having balanced diets. In conclusion, eating too much fast food leads to many serious health problems as there are many ingredients included that are not good for people ’s health in the long term. Besides, there are other ways to solve this situation such as changing people ’s mindset on eating habits.