Some people think that high school students should learn literature in their own country. Others believe that it is more important to study literature all over the world.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that students of high school should be taught their literature while others think that exploring foreign literature is of paramount importance. This essay agrees that learning world literature is crucial; nevertheless, both views of the argument will be discussed below. To begin with, studying the literature of own nation is essential since it gives assistance to fathom history deeper. When pupils scrutinize their own countries' literature they may meet some facts about life in the past, their way of living, and some stories, so reading them will aid in plunging into historical events. For example, in Russia, all high school students are obliged to learn their literature and a survey showed that 80 per cent of them are familiar with most historical occasions thanks to it. Therefore, scrutiny of own literature might foster depth-knowledge about what occurred previously, in the past. However, the majority cannot deny the substantial role of world literature even though local literature facilitates knowing more about past events. Foreign literature is a great way in order to broaden perspective. If a person is interested in reading foreign books, it promotes to be more open-minded as this individual is familiar with works of authors worldwide whose opinions might discriminate from each other. This is because people from other parts of the world have different understanding, cultures, and mentality. For instance, in Finland, where foreign literature is an integral part of a school curriculum, 90 per cent of pupils admitted how impedes it to broadening horizons. This example proves the influence of literature worldwide on opening minds. To sum up, both types of literature must be studied by students because local works in this field are beneficial in terms of history whereas world books incur broaden perspective; however, foreign one is more important and should not be disregarded.