In order to learn a language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of people who speak this language. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Learning a language is a must in this competitive world. There is an opinion saying that to study a language effectively, people ought to be aware of the nation as well as its cultures and residents' lifestyle. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement. To begin with, having a certain degree of knowledge of the cultures and customs increases the efficiency in mastering a language. Since a word can have numerous variations in distinguished regions, students will find it difficult to comprehend what local residents say if they only learn the basic form of the word. Besides, learners often have to struggle while listening to foreigners because of their accents. To explicate, their ways of pronouncing and stress intonating differ from the tapes and CDs that students listen to. In addition, an individual need to have in-depth knowledge and awareness of the cultural values of a country, the customs of its inhabitants, and the traditional aspects of the specific language to be more accurate while communicating. There are various idiomatic expressions that only by finding out more about the traditions and cultures of the country do learners can know their meanings and use them in the right situations. Also, speakers should understand the mindset of local people to avoid misunderstanding and misspellings. In conclusion, being well aware of the cultures, traditions, and lifestyles of citizens in a country is important to learn a new native tongue and be proficient in it. Learners should always make efforts in gaining more knowledge about these aspects.