In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to change the situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the worrying trends in modern society is that children have been increasingly suffering from obesity. It is believed by some sociologists that the government should take the responsibility to tackle this alarming situation. Although the government should do so, the success ultimately rests on concerted efforts between governments and parents. The primary justification for requiring efforts from politicians lies in the belief that they should and can solve such problems. Central to the future well-being of any society is the healthy development of children; thus, as the protector of the citizenry and the organization aiming at sustainable development, the government should take responsibility for tackling the global obesity epidemic. In addition, governments can enforce laws; for example, they can place a ban on advertising for food and drinks high in sugar, salt, and fat, all of which are the principal contributors to children ’s obesity. Stringent regulations have been imposed in countries such as the UK to mitigate the problem. Therefore, the duties and abilities necessitate the role of government in addressing this issue However, hardly can this worrying trend be halted or reversed by governments only. At a macro level, it is true that the government can mitigate the problems that ensue from an unbalanced diet by imposing a blanket advertising ban on fast food. At a micro level, governments, unfortunately, usually fail to eliminate the risks posed by living a sedentary lifestyle. Children are prone to do activities such as watching television, playing video games, or using a mobile phone, all of which occupy their free time for exercise. This makes it difficult for governments to remedy the situation, thus necessitating the role of parents, with whom children can realize the adverse effects that ensue from obesity and can get rid of unhealthy lifestyle choices. In conclusion, to alleviate childhood obesity, concerted efforts should be made between governments and individuals, both of which are indispensable in creating an environment conducive to children ’s development.