Research shows that global warming is caused by human activity. What are the possible effects of climate change and what can governments and individuals do to reduce these?

Global warming is undoubtedly a result of human activity because of a failure in environmental policy by the government, and a lack of concern for wasted power by individuals. It is universally accepted that climate change is the consequence of a number of environmental failings. Perhaps the precipitating factor of global warming is the combustion of fossil fuels such as coal and oil. This is a problem because their use indicates the release of CO2 into the atmosphere, which causes the greenhouse effect. Another serious issue is deforestation. Due to the fast-paced economy, the cutting of trees is required in order to free up land for factories to be built. After the reduction in forest size, less photosynthesis can be carried by the trees. When CO2 is unable to recycle and produce oxygen, it contributes to a higher concentration of CO2. It should not be forgotten that there is a connection between global warming and the insufficient use of energy by consumers in the home. While governments must take prime responsibility for reducing climate change, individuals too can play a part. Political leaders across the globe shall work cooperatively so that research into renewable energy e.g. wind and solar energy can be used to replace non-renewable energy (i.e fossil fuels). On top of this reason, regulations to control the rate of deforestation should not be undermined. Consumers of energy can contribute to the global project by using renewable energy by setting up solar panels on one’s rooftop, so renewable energy can be obtained and replace non-renewable energy. These actions could limit the amount of CO2 in the atmosphere and alleviate the greenhouse effect. In conclusion, while global warming is a serious threat to the planet Earth, there are a number of steps that can be taken to reduce the effect of climate change.