Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

No doubt, that nowadays opinions may vary on the influence of the advertisements on people ’s consumption behaviour, particularly now. Some people may see that they have become more powerful tools while others may not. Recently, advertising has developed from the simple advertisements on the newspaper, TV commercials, and road signs, to newer aspects. The rise of Social Media has created utterly innovative channels for promoting goods and services, especially with globalization and opened trading channels. Undeniable that, social media has profound effect on people ’s demands and preferences. Instagram and Facebook short videos or photos that we come across daily, for instance, are very successful tools in directing consumers’ preferences unconsciously and shaping their perspective, especially, when it comes to fashion and beauty. Having people posting their costumes, beauty services and products, and being watched by millions all over the worlds, in my opinion, encourages many people to follow the same path and gain more knowledge about what they need whether it is a genuine addition to their life or just a luxury. Moreover, some specialists and doctors promote their services online which makes it more appealing and demanded for some people. On the other hand, some people would argue that, being faced with high load of commercials everywhere can create some kind of resistance. We can observe that all supermarkets and restaurants for example distribute the same brochures providing similar offers with almost an equal net value. Subsequently, The service is chosen based on other reasons such as convenience, apart from what is actually being offered, hence, competition has created a narrow margin of excellence. To sum up, I personally think that advertisements still paly a crucial role that impacts and directs our consumption habits: however, not in all fields.